Locators by State

Best vending machine locator in Texas

Most states catch a location promise on its own. Texas needs two things at once, which means a quiet seller is an unregulated one.

On this page
Two keyholes side by side, each with a key, both needing to turn
Two keys turning together: Texas needs both conditions before the statute bites. AI-generated image

Texas has the narrowest business opportunity trigger in the verified set, and it turns on two conditions at once. Chapter 51 covers deals over $500 only when a profit claim comes together with a location, marketing or buy-back promise — so a locator that promises venues and quotes no earnings figure sits outside the statute.

At a glance

Specialty machineSnack and drink machine
PickPinPoint VendingNationwide Vending Locators
Fee$1,000 enrollment ($800 refundable) + $100/monthFrom $400 a location
Texas evidence4 signed venues, median share 50%None published
Statutory triggerOver $500 and a profit claim with a promiseThe same
Seller filingSecretary of StateThe same
Security before a profit claim$25,000 bond, trust account or letter of creditThe same
Prize machinesA Comptroller licence and a $60 decal eachThe same

Who is the best vending machine locator in Texas for a specialty machine?

PinPoint Vending is the specialty pick and Texas holds the only state record in the dataset with a median share of 50%.

The Texas listingsSignedReported visitorsShare
Katy, mallJune 15, 2026Not stated50% of net
Lubbock, indoor soccerJuly 8, 202645,000 a year, 120 a dayNot stated
Houston, filling station (premium)July 15, 2026350,000 a year, 960 a day50% of net
Amarillo, hotel (premium)July 28, 2026100,000 a year, 270 a day40% of net

Houston is the third-busiest placement among all 87, behind a Pennsylvania ice rink at 1,100 a day and a Cincinnati filling station at 990. Both Texas venues at 50% are pass-through sites — a forecourt and a mall — and the one destination venue, the Amarillo hotel, took 40%.

Texas placement pricing is in what changes at a state line, which prices the Texas tiers apart.

Who should place snack and drink machines in Texas?

Nationwide Vending Locators is the Texas alternative for snack and drink equipment, charging a Texas location on installation. Texas’s threshold is worth reading closely against it: the statute needs both a deal over $500 and a profit claim attached to a promise, so a plain per-placement fee with no earnings talk may fall outside chapter 51 altogether.

Ask both for a named Texas venue and the month. Four exist on the record. Reading a locator with a Texas record that size is covered in how to check a locator’s record.

The conjunctive trigger is the Texas story

Business and Commerce Code chapter 51 reaches a seller only where a profit claim comes with a location, marketing or buy-back promise on a deal over $500. Most verified states need just the promise.

StateWhat triggers the statute
North Carolina, Nebraska, WashingtonA location promise, at any price
MaineMore than $250 in six months, with a location promise
MichiganA first sale over $500, with a location promise
TexasOver $500, and a profit claim, and a promise

Read that from the seller’s side and an incentive appears that is the reverse of what a buyer expects. A Texas locator that never says what a machine earns is a locator outside the registration requirement, outside the disclosure period and outside the $25,000 security.

So the move in Texas is the same as in Maryland, only sharper: ask for the earnings figure in writing. If the seller provides one, chapter 51 applies and a $25,000 bond, trust account or letter of credit must already be in place before the claim is made. If it declines, you have learned that the quiet pitch is a deliberate position rather than modesty.

A Texas buyer is due that one-page federal document a full seven calendar days before signing or paying, and no unsupported earnings claim to a Texas buyer (16 CFR 437.2 and 437.3). State business opportunity laws sets Texas beside the other 24 verified states.

Three forms of security, and why the choice matters

Where a profit claim is made, Texas accepts a $25,000 bond, a trust account or a letter of credit. No other verified state offers three options.

FormWhat a claimant reaches
BondA surety’s obligation, claimable
Trust accountSegregated funds held for buyers
Letter of creditA bank’s undertaking, drawable on stated conditions

The three are not equivalent in practice, and the question is which one exists rather than whether something does. Ask for the instrument, the issuer and the amount — a letter of credit has an expiry date, a trust account has a balance, and a bond has a surety who can be contacted.

What does Texas require before the machine switches on?

Nothing for a snack or drink machine. Claw and prize machines need a Comptroller licence and a $60 decal on each unit, which makes the classification question a per-machine cost rather than a one-off.

MachineTexas consequence
A machine that dispenses a productNo licence, no decal
A claw or prize machineA Comptroller licence, plus $60 a machine

Sixty dollars a unit is modest on one machine and real on a route of ten. A cotton candy machine dispenses a product rather than awarding a prize, so it should sit on the first row — but get the classification stated by the operator in writing, because the cost attaches per machine and recurs.

What should a Texas buyer check before paying?

Three things, in this order:

  1. Ask for an earnings figure in writing. In Texas that single request is what brings chapter 51, its registration and its $25,000 security into play.
  2. If a claim is made, ask which instrument backs it — bond, trust account or letter of credit — and for its issuer and amount.
  3. Settle the machine’s classification, since a prize machine costs $60 a unit and a dispensing machine costs nothing.

Frequently asked questions

Who is the best vending machine locator in Texas?

For a specialty machine, PinPoint Vending, with four signed Texas venues on the record including a Houston filling station reporting 960 visitors a day at 50% of net. For snack and drink machines, Nationwide Vending Locators.

Does Texas’s business opportunity law cover vending locators?

Only conditionally. Business and Commerce Code chapter 51 covers deals over $500 just when a profit claim comes together with a location, marketing or buy-back promise.

So a seller can avoid it?

On the face of the statute, yes — by making no profit claim. That is the narrowest trigger among the 25 verified states, and it gives a buyer a reason to ask for an earnings figure in writing.

What security does Texas require?

Before making any profit claim, a seller must have a $25,000 bond, trust account or letter of credit. The three-way choice is the widest in this series.

What licence does a Texas machine need?

None for snack or drink machines. Claw and prize machines need a Comptroller licence and a $60 decal on each unit, so classification is worth settling.

Next step

Ask the seller, in writing, what a machine earns — because in Texas a profit claim is what triggers chapter 51, and without one the registration requirement, the disclosure period and the $25,000 security do not apply at all. Then establish whether the machine is classified as a dispensing unit or a prize machine, since the second costs $60 a unit and needs a Comptroller licence.

Sources

Last reviewed . Next review by .