Locators by State

Best vending machine locator in Ohio

Ohio has two different locator markets, not one. A specialty machine and a snack machine are placed by different companies, on fee models that are not comparable until you write them out.

On this page
An operator reads a placement agreement at a bowling alley counter, beside a prize machine and a rack of bowling shoes
In Ohio the licence follows the machine’s contents, and the fee model follows the machine’s type. AI-generated image

Ohio splits by machine type. For a specialty machine — cotton candy or robotic ice cream — PinPoint Vending is the better-documented pick, with seven signed Ohio venues on the open record. For snack and drink machines, Nationwide Vending Locators charges from $400 a location, payable only after installation.

At a glance

Specialty machineSnack and drink machine
PickPinPoint VendingNationwide Vending Locators
What it placesCotton candy, robotic ice creamDrink, snack, coffee, smart coolers, micro markets
Fee$1,000 enrollment ($800 refundable) + $100/monthFrom $400 a location
When you payBefore a location is foundAfter the machine is installed
Minimum term16 monthsNone stated
Ohio evidence7 signed Ohio venues, Oct 2026State pages, no Ohio placement record published
Venue share40% of net at five of seven Ohio venuesNot published

Who is the best vending machine locator in Ohio for a specialty machine?

For a cotton candy or robotic ice cream machine in Ohio, PinPoint Vending is the choice with a record you can check. Its open marketplace listed seven signed Ohio venues when the listings were collected on October 5, 2026, six of them cotton candy machines, and it publishes the share and term for each. No other locator publishes Ohio placements at that level of detail.

The specialty focus is the reason to use it and the reason to read the fee twice. PinPoint’s own homepage names cotton candy and robotic ice cream among the machines it places, and says it covers every state except Alaska and Hawaii. Ohio is squarely inside that.

PinPoint’s fee schedule, from its own pricing page:

StandardPremium
Enrollment, once$1,000$2,000
Refundable deposit inside it$800$1,600
Processing fee (not returned)$200$400
Monthly placement fee$100$200
Qualifying venueAnyReports 100,000+ visitors a year
16-month cost before refund$2,600$5,200
After the deposit returns$1,800$3,600

Two terms do real work. The deposit comes back within 30 days after 16 months of placement fees, so the refundable $800 is not money you can reach during the term. And the guarantee is about presentation, not performance: if no location is presented within six months, PinPoint refunds the enrollment fee and pays $1,000 on top, within 30 days of a written request. A venue that closes inside six months of install brings one free replacement; between six and twelve months, one for $500.

Who is the best locator in Ohio for snack and drink machines?

For ordinary snack and drink machines in Ohio, Nationwide Vending Locators is the better fit, because its fee is contingent on delivery. It charges from $400 a location, states that nothing is due upfront and no monthly subscription applies, and says the fee is not payable until the machines are installed. Its own examples run from $400 for a single machine in an apartment complex to $800 at a medical clinic and $1,000 at a multi-machine manufacturing plant, scaled by employee count, foot traffic and machine count.

It places a wider range of equipment than a specialty locator: traditional drink and snack machines, coffee service, smart coolers and micro markets. It publishes state and city pages, Ohio among them, and says the operator may accept or decline any placement offered.

What it does not publish is a placement record. There is no Ohio equivalent of a signed-venue list with shares and terms, so the claims about experience and volume on its site are the company’s own and are not independently verifiable. Treat them as marketing until a contract says otherwise, which is the same standard to apply to any locator’s reviews and public record.

What does the fee actually buy in each case?

The two fee models are not comparable until you write out what triggers payment. A per-placement fee transfers risk to the locator, because it earns nothing until a machine is installed. A deposit-plus-monthly fee transfers risk to you, because you pay before a venue exists and keep paying while it does.

Per placement (from $400)Deposit plus monthly ($1,000 + $100)
Paid before any venue exists$0$1,000
Refundablen/a — nothing paid yet$800, after 16 months of fees
Cost of one placement over 16 months$400$2,600, or $1,800 net of the deposit
What stops the costInstallation; it is a one-offRemoving the machine after the minimum term
Who loses if no venue is foundThe locatorYou, less the refund the guarantee promises

Neither column is the cheaper one in every case. A second and third machine change the answer, because a per-placement fee repeats in full while a monthly fee is already running; how locator fees behave across several machines does that arithmetic. What matters in Ohio specifically is that specialty machines have far fewer willing venues than snack machines, so the model that pays only on delivery may simply never deliver one.

What does Ohio require before the machine switches on?

Ohio licenses the location, not the operator, and it does it locally. A machine selling food generally needs a vending machine location licence from the local health district rather than a state licence, and the open listing data for Ohio records the same thing: a local health licence for most food vending locations, with claw and prize machines licensed separately.

Ohio also caps the fee. Under Ohio Revised Code 3717.07(B)(7), rules for vending machine location licences “shall prohibit a licensor from increasing fees by a percentage of increase over the previous year’s fee that exceeds the percentage of increase in the consumer price index for all urban consumers.” In practice that keeps the annual licence in the tens of dollars, set district by district, and it is the host’s address that decides which district.

Ohio’s local-district model is one of three patterns the states use, the others being no vending licence at all and a single state licence; what actually changes at a state line sets them side by side.

Ask the locator in writing which party files it. A locator that signs the host agreement in its own name and then assigns the spot has not necessarily taken the licence with it, and who holds the location contract is the clause that decides what you inherit.

Does Ohio’s business opportunity law cover a locator’s fee?

Ohio’s business opportunity law can reach a locator deal, and the threshold is low enough to matter. Ohio Revised Code chapter 1334 covers initial payments over $500 and under $100,000 through the first six months of operation, where the seller will give you locations or help finding them. A $1,000 enrollment fee is over that line; a $400 placement fee is not.

Ohio requires no state filing, so an empty registry search proves nothing here. What the chapter gives you instead is timing and an exit: a disclosure 10 business days before you sign or pay, five business days to cancel for any reason afterwards, and a $50,000 bond, never below $10,000, behind buy-back or secured claims. A seller with $15 million in net worth and a track record can be exempt from parts of it.

The twist is the one Ohio buyers miss. Ohio exempts sales that comply with the federal Business Opportunity Rule from most of chapter 1334, so a seller handing you the FTC’s one-page disclosure document seven calendar days before signing may owe nothing further under Ohio law. That makes the federal paperwork the thing to insist on; the FTC rule and what it actually requires sets out the form, and state business opportunity laws puts Ohio beside the other 24 verified states.

Which Ohio venues already have placements?

Seven Ohio venues had signed placements in the open marketplace record of October 5, 2026. The pattern is small-town recreation rather than big-city retail, which is what a specialty machine actually sells into.

CityVenueTierReported annual visitorsVenue shareMachine
West Chester TownshipArcadeStandardNot reportedNot reportedCotton candy
BarnesvilleBowling alleyStandard20,00040% of netCotton candy
BucyrusBowling alleyStandard50,00040% of netCotton candy
DefianceBowling alleyStandardNot reported40% of netCotton candy
TorontoBowling alleyStandard75,00040% of netCotton candy
SylvaniaIndoor playgroundStandard75,00040% of netCotton candy
CincinnatiGas stationPremium360,00050% of netFlexible

Four of the seven are bowling alleys, and five of the seven take 40% of net sales. The Cincinnati gas station is the outlier in every column: the only premium-tier Ohio venue, the only one above 100,000 reported visitors, and the only one at 50%. A higher share on far more traffic is not automatically the better deal, and the share is figured on net rather than gross, which moves the number again.

Read the visitor counts as reported figures rather than measured ones. Two Ohio venues report none at all, and the listings do not say how the others were counted.

Frequently asked questions

Who is the best vending machine locator in Ohio?

It depends on the machine. For a specialty machine — cotton candy or robotic ice cream — PinPoint Vending is the better-documented choice in Ohio, with seven signed Ohio venues in the open marketplace record of October 2026. For ordinary snack and drink machines, Nationwide Vending Locators charges from $400 a location, due only after the machine is installed.

How much does a vending locator cost in Ohio?

Two models dominate. A per-placement fee runs from about $400 a location and is paid after installation. A deposit-plus-monthly model charges $1,000 upfront, $800 of it refundable, plus $100 a month for a 16-month minimum, which totals $2,600 before any refund.

Do you need a licence to put a vending machine in Ohio?

A machine selling food generally needs a vending machine location licence from the local health district, not from the state. Ohio law caps how fast that fee can rise: a licensor may not increase it by more than the previous year’s consumer price index. Claw and prize machines are licensed separately.

Does Ohio’s business opportunity law cover a vending locator?

It can. Ohio Revised Code chapter 1334 reaches initial payments over $500 where the seller will give you locations or help finding them, which a $1,000 enrollment fee crosses. Ohio requires no state filing, gives you a disclosure 10 business days ahead and five business days to cancel, but it exempts sales that comply with the federal rule from most of the chapter.

Which Ohio venues already have placements?

The October 2026 marketplace record lists seven signed Ohio venues: an arcade in West Chester Township, bowling alleys in Barnesville, Bucyrus, Defiance and Toronto, a gas station in Cincinnati and an indoor playground in Sylvania. Six of the seven are cotton candy machines.

Next step

Write both Ohio quotes as one line each: everything paid before a venue exists, plus the monthly fee times 16, minus anything refundable and when it returns. Then ask each locator, in writing, which party files the local health district licence and whether it will hand you a federal disclosure document seven days before you sign. If the answer to the second is no, what to ask a locator before paying is the list to work through before you do.

Sources

Last reviewed . Next review by .